Middle East Technical University

Tree of Science

Located in Ankara, Turkey, Middle East Technical University (METU) is a state university founded in 1956. Its language of instruction is English. The University employs about 750 faculty (professors, associate professors etc.), 400 academic instructors and 1,250 research assistants. Currently, about 26,500 students study at 43 undergraduate programs in five faculties and 100 graduate and 66 doctorate programs at METU. METU has also a Campus in Northern Cyprus where 15 undergraduate programs and 3 graduate programs are offered.

Since its foundation it has had the mission to reach, produce, apply and promote knowledge, and to educate individuals with that knowledge for the social, cultural, economic, scientific and technological development. Owing to the quality academic education that emphasizes merit and excellence in scientific, cultural and intellectual studies as well as owing to the accomplished and qualified METU graduates, the University has become one of the distinguished and respectable institutions of Turkey. As an international research university, METU has been the leading university in Turkey in terms of depth and breadth of its international ties.

In its earliest years, part of METU was located in a small building that belonged Social Security Office of Retirees at Kizilay’s Müdafaa Street and the other section was located in the barracks behind the TBMM (Turkey’s National Grand Assembly). In 1963, the University moved to its current campus location which is the first university campus of Turkey.

The current campus area is 4500 hectares and the forest area is 3043 hectares, including Lake Eymir, about 20 kilometers from the centrum of Ankara. The lake is available to METU students for rowing, fishing, picnicking and general recreational activities. Bus service is provided from the METU main campus and locations in the city to the lake.